A Bi Monthly Magazine on Printed and Digital Communications

Avery Dennison announces its fourth Spirit of Invention Scholarship Awards in India


Avery Dennison Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Avery Dennison Corporation – a global leader in labeling and packaging materials and solutions – announced their fourth ‘Spirit of Invention’ (InvEnt) Scholarship Award. The award function held in Gurgaon, Delhi NCR, honoured ten Indian students from five reputed institutes for their outstanding innovation capabilities in engineering, science and technology. The award-winning students were chosen through a merit-based, rigorous two-stage selection process; first at the college level and then the second at an independent selection committee level.

The ten students who bagged the 2015 ‘Spirit of Invention (InvEnt) Scholarship Award are: Arnav Kundra, Harsh Sharma, Rishabh Gupta and Vasu Sharma of Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Pilani; Ayush Nema and R Vandana Reddy of MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bangalore; Shantanu Methikar and Sohum Waikar of Pune Vidhyarthi Griha’s College of Engineering and Technology, Pune; Chirag Manchanda of MIT, Manipal and Nidhi Sharma of St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi, Delhi.

“We are pleased that the InvEnt Scholarship Programme has entered its fourth year in India. The Avery Dennison Foundation is committed to improving the communities in which we operate, and supporting education is part of this commitment. We recognise the need for talent development to nurture effective leaders of the future. We hope that by encouraging the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship among students, we can help them pursue their dream careers. We are excited to play a part in the journey of these ten students from India as they get ready to take on new opportunities in their future,” said Alicia Procello Maddox, president, Avery Dennison Foundation.

To inspire the spirit of innovation among university students pursuing courses in engineering, science and technology, ‘Spirit of Invention’ (InvEnt) scholarship programme was launched in the year 2008 in China. In India it was launched in the year 2011 with 20 scholarships have been awarded to university students to date. Present at the award function included Anil Sharma, MD, South Asia and Sub Saharan Africa, Avery Dennison Materials Group; Anne Hill, senior vice president and chief human resource officer, Avery Dennison; Ajay Relan of Citicorp Finance (India) Ltd; Vimlendu Jha, executive director, Swechha and others including university professors, deans and students of the respective institutes. Avinash Venkat, director HR, Avery Dennison proposed the vote of thanks at the closure of event.

You might also like